Humanity Lost, “Industrial Humanity”

Sometimes words can’t describe what’s seen, but I think I’ll try to describe the surreal and somewhat haunting imagery by Jeffrey Richter of Industrial Humanity anyway. After all, that’s what I do: use words to describe images.

The Smoking Gun
The Smoking Gun

It’s like his paintings are from another time. A time that’s long gone, yet we still recognize it from antique photographs that we’ve seen in books. It was a time when the latest advancements were powered by steam, through complex engineering, and human beings were subservient to enormous mechanical monstrosities. It was also when events could be captured for the first time through the use of contrasty, black-and-white, grainy images on silver-nitrate paper. Looking at Jeffrey’s paintings I can see the human form inside of the mechanics, but it is an abstract blend that causes one to question: “Is it a revolver, or a woman? A light bulb, or a man? Machine, or human?”

When I saw Jeffrey’s paintings for the first time I felt not only attracted to them, but attached to them. It was like his paintings were an ideal representation of me, and the stories I try to tell: abstract, haunting, and human. A part of life that exists, but we don’t always want to face. So, I’ve used one of his charcoal paintings to design my business card and I’ve been complemented on it ever since. Thank you, Jeffrey.

The Train
The Train. Charcoal on paper.

To view more of Jeffrey’s incredible paintings check out his blog page: Industrial Humanity

Leave a Reply

